Fundraising, charity, community work

Hi. I thought it might be nice to have a thread to mention any fundraising, charity or community work/activities those of us in the SFCU forum might be doing. Hope this is okay by the admin(s).

4 Likes

Ages ago I made a team at Lifeblood called Supporters of Sydney Football Club, intending to invite people to join, but, I’m not good at reaching out and advertising. If you’re an existing donor or want to become a blood/plasma/platelet donor, you can join my team following the below instructions.

Wish I could but I’m barred from donating blood in Australia due to my presence in the UK during the Mad Cow Disease debacle in the 80’s/90’s

That, and you are a reverse vampire.

1 Like

My parents and brother too. :worried:

images (8)

I’m on the Board of one of the larger NGO’s in Bathurst called Veritas House, that works in the foster care and at risk youth space in the Central West.

Always looking for corporate support to reduce our reliance on government funding to service our community.

4 Likes

Good news jub jub.

4 Likes

Yeah I read that yesterday, that’s excellent. I’m just waiting for them to update the donor screening process.

1 Like

Good news for my mum. And brother.
My dad might be over the age bracket.

Well, maybe not, actually.
76, apparently.
Though maybe the first time donor age is lower.

Go for it, Scotsman! 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

1 Like

I’m doing this 4 months from tomorrow.

10 days until I do the World’s Greatest Shave!

3 Likes

Plaits were sent off to Sustainable Salons and Variety.

3 Likes

I’ve recently been inspired by Fans Supporting Foodbanks in the UK and think it would be really cool if we could do something similar here. Food insecurity is ridiculously high in this country given the wealth we have and think we could definitely make an impact. There might be some hurdles but don’t think this would be a particularly difficult initiative to implement - Foodbank have some resources to help run food drives.