Shares & Investments

Years ago we had a stocks and shares thread on the forum, now that the world seems to be turning towards a more normal I thought I’d revive it.

I do 3 things

1 - I have money in a mortgage offset account helping to pay down my mortgage faster
2 - I have a small portfolio of stocks which are all 1 year+ holds, I add to it when I see something worthwhile, I have a Motley Fool subscription and use their recommendations for the most part.
3 - I put $100 a week into Spaceship which is essentially an online unit trust which holds a variety of global stocks.

My portfolio has a range of small caps/large caps and dividend investments. My current favourites are Aurelia Mining (AMI), Mesoblast(MSB) and Washington Soul Pattinson (WSP)

Aurelia are down 20% but have undertaken an aggressive growth strategy, as long as the price of gold stays high, it’ll recover.

Mesoblast is up over 100% since I bought in and is due to announce successful trials for new stem cell treatments that could see it quadruple in the next few months.

WSP is basically an investment vehicle supplying a reliable dividend twice a year, its up 30% since I bought

Spaceship is up 4% in the 9 weeks I’ve been putting money in it. its fantastic for people who dont have the time or inclination to do research, I have a referral code that gets both of us $5 if you use it. - S8NFCZRO5L

Great thread. Spaceship sounds good, I might use that referral code.

I have most of my money in the offset account too. I don’t get loans for anything unless they are lower than the offset account. The last few cars I have bought have been using money from the offset account instead of a car loan for example.

I have some shares but haven’t been as active as I used to, thinking of starting to assess the market and invest in some more shares. Motely Fool is great!

I’m pretty keen on getting into a Gold ETF, seems like gold might be a bit underpriced IMO.